Home » Civil Service Exam - FAQs » COMPLETE GUIDE : How to Apply for the Civil Service Exam 2018 ( + Free CSE Reviewers )

CSE Application Form
Copyright © 2017 ReviewerCivilServiceExam.com. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of any site material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to ReviewerCivilServiceExam.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Like Us On Facebook

COMPLETE GUIDE : How to Apply for the Civil Service Exam 2018 ( + Free CSE Reviewers )

Do you want to take the Civil Service Exam this 2018? If yes, read this entire post and you’ll find out everything you need to know about the upcoming CSE-PPT…

STEP 1: Know what the CSE-PPT is all about

Why should you take the CSE-PPT and what awaits you if you pass? 

The CSC or the Civil Service Commission uses the Civil Service Exam or the CSE-PPT (Career Service Examination – Pen and Paper Test) to determine which individuals are fit to work for the government. If you want to work for government agencies and offices, you’ll most likely need a Civil Service Eligibility if you want to get hired and become a permanent employee.

Should you take the Pro or the Sub-Pro level of the examination?

When deciding which level of examination should you take, you should only consider two things: (a) That the Professional Level Exam is more difficult than the SubProfessional Level Exam (Read on to see the topic coverage of both exams); and (b) That naturally, passing the Professional Level Exam will give you more benefits. Those who pass the Professional Level of the exam will be eligible for both first and second level positions in the government that do not involve the practice of a profession and are not covered by special/other laws. On the other hand, those who pass the SubProfessional level can only be appointed to first level positions (clerical, trades, crafts and custodial service).

When is the next Civil Service Exam – Pen and Paper Test?

The next nationwide Career Service Examination, Pen and Paper Test (CSE-PPT) for Professional and SubProfessional Levels for CY 2018 is set on March 18, 2018. After that, there will be another nationwide testing on August 12, 2018.

STEP 2: File Your APPLICATION for the Next CSE PPT

Are you QUALIFIED to apply for the Civil Service Exam? What are the QUALIFICATION / ADMISSION REQUIREMENTS?

Contrary to what most people think, there’s no education attainment required for CSE-PPT applicants. NO NEED to be a college graduate, or an undergraduate with at least 72 units. If you’re a Filipino citizen who’s at least 18 years old on the date of filing of application; Of good moral character; Has not been convicted by final judgment of an offense or crime involving moral turpitude, or disgraceful or immoral conduct, dishonesty, examination irregularity, drunkenness, or addiction to drugs; Has not been dishonorably discharged from military service, or dismissed for cause from any civilian position in the government; and Has not taken the same level of Career Service Examination, regardless of mode, within the last three months before the date of examination, then you’re qualified to take the CSE-PPT – SubPro or Pro level.

***Since the examinations are always more than three months apart, you can take two consecutive Civil Service Exams every year. There’s also no limit as to how many times you can take the exam so you can always try taking the exam again whenever you don’t see your name on the list of passers.

Note:
a) Approval of applications may be recalled any time upon discovery of applicant’s disqualification, for which the examination fees paid shall be forfeited.
b) Applicants holding dual citizenship under R.A. 9225 (Citizenship Retention and Re-acquisition Act of 2003) may apply for and take the examination upon presentation of original, and submission of a photocopy of, Certification of Retention/Re-acquisition of Philippine Citizenship from the Bureau of Immigration, and meeting of all the other admission and application requirements for the examination.
c) Applicants with pending administrative and/or criminal cases may take the examination and shall be conferred the eligibility if they successfully pass the same. However, this is without prejudice to the outcome of their pending cases. If they are found guilty, their eligibility shall be forfeited based on the penalties stated in the decision and under existing Civil Service Law and rules.
d) The Bar examination given by the Supreme Court of the Philippines and the Board examinations given by the Professional Regulation Commission are declared civil service examinations under Republic Act (RA) No. 1080. Accordingly, and under CSC Resolution No. 90-1212, the passers are automatically considered as civil service eligibles. Thus, they may opt not to take the corresponding examination anymore. Also, individuals who were granted the Honor Graduate Eligibility under P.D. 907 may opt not to take the corresponding examination anymore.

When can you file your application?

Applications for the March 18, 2018 examinations will be accepted from November 16, 2017 to January 31, 2018. On the other hand, applications for the August 12, 2018 examinations will be accepted from April 10, 2018, to June 22, 2018. However, remember that there is a FIRST-COME, FIRST SERVED policy and each CSC office has its own target number of applicants. CSC offices can stop accepting civil service exam applications even before the set deadline if they reach their applicant ‘quota’ ahead of time.

Where can you file your application?

You should submit your application personally at any CSC Regional Office or CSC Field Office near you. HERE is a list of the CSC Regional and Field Offices where you can file your application. Again, I suggest you submit your application way before the deadline because most offices reach their quota for the examinees ahead of time. Also, remember that you should file your application in the same area/region where you intend to take the exam. That means that if you want your exam venue to be somewhere within the National Capital Region, you should file your application at CSC’s NCR Regional Office or at any CSC field office in Metro Manila. 

What do you have to bring when you apply? What are the REQUIREMENTS when APPLYING for the Civil Service Exam?

1. Fully accomplished Application Form (CS Form No. 100, Revised September 2016).
Note: The spaces for “Signature of Applicant” and “Right Thumbmark” on the Application Form should be left blank. These shall be accomplished in the presence of the CSC processor.
2. Four (4) pieces of identical I.D. pictures with specifications, as follows:

  • Passport size (4.5 cm x 3.5 cm or 1.8 inches x 1.4 inches)
  • Colored, with white background
  • Taken within three (3) months prior to filing of application
  • Printed on good quality photo paper
  • In standard close-up shot (from shoulder level up with the head and face occupying at least 80% of the picture and with the name tag positioned at approximately 1 inch or 2.54 cm below the chin)
  • In bare face (with no eyeglasses, colored contact lens, or any accessories that may cover the facial features; facial features not computer enhanced)
  • Showing left and right ears
  • Taken in full-face view directly facing the camera
  • With neutral facial expression, and both eyes open
  • With HANDWRITTEN (not computer-generated) name tag legibly showing SIGNATURE OVER PRINTED FULL NAME in the format: First Name, Middle Initial, Last Name, and Extension Name, if any

3. Original and photocopy of any of the following I.D. cards, which must be valid (not expired upon filing of application):

  • Driver’s License;
  • Passport;
  • PRC License;
  • SSS I.D.;
  • GSIS I.D. (UMID);
  • Voter’s I.D.;
  • BIR I.D. (ATM type/TIN card type with picture);
  • PhilHealth I.D. (must, at the least, contain the holder’s name, clear picture, signature and PhilHealth number);
  • Company/Office I.D.;
  • School I.D. (validated for the current school year/semester/trimester);
  • Police Clearance/Police Clearance Certificate (with picture);
  • Postal I.D.;
  • Barangay I.D.; or
  • NBI Clearance.
  • Note: All other I.D. cards not included in the above list shall NOT be accepted.

4. For applicants without date of birth in their I.D. card/s, original and photocopy of Birth Certificate issued by the Philippine Statistics Authority (PSA, formerly National Statistics Office), or the Local Civil Registry (LCR) printed on Security Paper (SecPa)

5. For applicants holding dual citizenship under R.A. 9225, original and photocopy of Certification of Retention/Re-acquisition of Philippine Citizenship issued by the Bureau of Immigration

6. Examination fee of Five Hundred Pesos (Php 500.00)

Where can you get the application form?

The application form (CS Form No. 100, Revised September 2016) is available at any CSC Regional/Field Office. You can also download the Civil Service Exam Application Form HERE, or from the CSC website: www.csc.gov.ph. The application form may be photocopied using legal size bond paper.

STEP 3: WAIT for the EXAMINATION and PREPARE

Where will you take the exam?

Examinees shall be informed of their places of examination (school assignment) through the Online Notice of School Assignment (ONSA). ONSA shall be available via the CSC website www.csc.gov.ph approximately two weeks before examination day. Examinees are advised to have a print-out of their Notice of School Assignment using ONSA. If examinees cannot access the ONSA or still do not know their school assignment one week before examination day, they should verify or inquire directly with the CSC Regional/Field Office concerned. Upon knowing where you’re supposed to take the exam, make sure that you visit and have an ocular inspection of it at least a day before the examination day.

What should you do while you wait for the big day?

Do what every good soldier does before he goes to war – PREPARE. TRAIN. Know what you’ll be dealing with and gain the skills and the knowledge you’ll need to deal with it. I have made a long list of tips and tricks which can definitely help you HERE. Also, check out this info-table from the CSC which gives you a glimpse of exactly what you’ll be facing come the big day.To pass the test, you need to get a general rating of at least 80.00.

To add to that, let me help you more with these FREE CIVIL SERVICE EXAM REVIEWERS which I found circulating online. Just click the link and you can download the CSE Reviewers for FREE!

In addition to those Free Reviewers, here’s the reviewer I actually used when I took and passed the exam in one take – CSE SUPERPREP. Well, the version I used was the rough draft of it –  my notes. What you can avail of now is an actual Manual for CSE Success. I’ve refined my notes based on my actual CSE-PPT encounter plus what I’ve learned from researching on the exam coverage, the common type of questions given, and strategies and skills required in answering and passing various Civil Service Exams here and abroad. I have also consulted and surveyed fellow eligibles. It has also helped tons of other examinees to pass the recent 2017 exam. CSE SUPERPREP is available for only PhP450.00 and if you’d like to grab a copy of it, you can visit my Facebook Page – Pass the Civil Service Exam in One Take. You can also buy the book via SHOPEE.PH.

At what time should you be at the venue and what do you have to bring on the examination day? 

You should be at your assigned school by 6:30 AM. If you’re the anxious type, you might want to be at your testing venue as early as 6AM. Don’t forget to bring the following:

  • I.D. card – preferably the same I.D. card presented during filing of application even if already expired by the time/date of examination. If the I.D. card to be presented for admission is different from the I.D. card presented during filing of application, bring another valid ID.
  • If your I.D. card doesn’t indicate your date of birth,  Original of PSA/LCR issued Birth Certificate printed on Security Paper
  • Application Receipt with CSC Official Receipt (if available);
  • Notice of School Assignment generated through ONSA (as applicable);
  • Black Ball Pen/s (Any Ballpoint pen will do – Panda, HBW, Faberr Castell
  • Water, or preferred beverage (except alcoholic beverage) placed in clear/transparent container, and/or candies, biscuits, or fruits
  • a regular WATCH, not a smartwatch

So there you have it – all you need to know about filing an application for the CSE-PPT 2018 plus FREE DOWNLOAD Civil Service Exam Reviewers! Good luck and God Bless!


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

AVAIL OF CSE SUPERPREP 1! The Ultimate Civil Service Exam Reviewer CSE Superprep 1 CSE Superprep 1 CSE SUPERPREP 1: TEXTBOOK-type, not the usual Q & A, packed with Tips, Techniques, Lessons, Examples with Detailed Explanations, Unit Tests, and a FULL 170-item MOCK EXAM in ACTUAL Civil Service Exam FORMAT! Effective Tips in Passing the Civil Service Exam

About the Author

I'm a Journalism graduate of the University of the Philippines - Diliman and I'm currently taking up units in Professional Education courses. I have written for various blogs, websites, and magazines in the past. Right now, I work as a freelance eBook writer and a mobile app developer.

While I was managing a fledgling online business and being a full-time mom to my four kids - Yana, Yshi, Yza and Vincent Jr., I took the Career Service Examination - Pencil and Paper Test - Professional Level (CSE-PPT- Prof) for the first time in December 2015. I passed and I got lucky enough to be among the Top 10 examinees in my batch, 3rd in the National Capital Region.